http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903 Do you know how viasat networking works? 2018-07-02T21:10:06Z 2018-06-14T00:36:23Z 7749903 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903 7749903 Do you know how viasat networking works? 2018-07-02T21:10:06Z 2018-06-14T00:36:23Z Oliver http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/2605367 https://www.gravatar.com/avatar/b7178f6de10bfb7b5afa6c7104fc2949?d=identicon&s=55&r=PG coliver Do any of you know how the viasat network does its networking? From what I can tell the public IP doe not reside on the modem. It resides at the gateway and data is proxyed to the modem. I have a bug that I am attempting to chase down that happens in bridge mode.&nbsp;<br /><br />If I have 2 devices with the same google voice or also google fi phone number and both devices are online and active the webRTC request will cause the gateway to stop sending traffic. The modem is still active and alive an sending out requests but nothing ever comes back. Its as if the gateway stops sending traffic to the modem. question active 15 5 1 comment http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19581688 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903 19581688 Bev responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-14T02:39:05Z 2018-06-14T02:39:05Z Bev http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/6899934 https://d2r1vs3d9006ap.cloudfront.net/public/uploaded_images/11237609/19720-1iq4119_medium.jpg bev_6594749 That's a question for the Viasat people. The fastest way to get an answer would be to send an email to <a href="mailto:Viasatlistens@viasat.com" rel="nofollow">Viasatlistens@viasat.com</a>. 0 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19581762 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903 19581762 Oliver responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-14T03:42:01Z 2018-06-14T03:42:01Z Oliver http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/2605367 https://www.gravatar.com/avatar/b7178f6de10bfb7b5afa6c7104fc2949?d=identicon&s=55&r=PG coliver I have emailed them, and we will see what comes of it.&nbsp;<br /><br />But again just asking if we I guess have any real nerds here who have looked at the way this network works. 0 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19583702 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903 19583702 Oliver responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T01:35:41Z 2018-06-15T01:35:41Z Oliver http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/2605367 https://www.gravatar.com/avatar/b7178f6de10bfb7b5afa6c7104fc2949?d=identicon&s=55&r=PG coliver Viasatlistens just told me to call the 800 number and deal with the support case that way. I hung up on the first guy. So guess I will play roulette again and waste 30 mins of my life turning things off and on. 0 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19583745 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903 19583745 Oliver responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T02:20:29Z 2018-06-15T02:20:29Z Oliver http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/2605367 https://www.gravatar.com/avatar/b7178f6de10bfb7b5afa6c7104fc2949?d=identicon&s=55&r=PG coliver When I call the 800 number I waste 30mins of my life EVERY $#@$ time. No I dont want to buy easy care. No I will not call google fi for support. The problem is on viasat's end. this is driving me nutts.............. 0 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19583851 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903 19583851 Oliver responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T04:41:29Z 2018-06-15T04:41:29Z Oliver http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/2605367 https://www.gravatar.com/avatar/b7178f6de10bfb7b5afa6c7104fc2949?d=identicon&s=55&r=PG coliver ugh the last guy drove me nutt's kept telling me my internet is working perfect. i told him over and over again to call me back at the number listed in my account info and boom my internet would stop working until I do one of these steps...reboot the modem, reboot my router, or told my router to request a dhcp. this is a real damn bug and i can reproduce it.&nbsp; 0 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19584229 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903 19584229 Old Labs responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T11:48:01Z 2018-06-15T11:48:01Z Old Labs http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/7094575 https://d2r1vs3d9006ap.cloudfront.net/public/uploaded_images/11309003/Dixie(2)_medium.jpg oldlabs Your router is assigned a single public IP address. The router in turn handles and provides the Network Address Translation (NAT) necessary to share that single IP address on multiple devices connecting through that router. There are several different forms of NAT.<br /><br />All reports here are that the Viasat modem/router's bridge mode simply disables all router functionality allowing you to avoid double NAT and utilize your own router's features without any interference from the Viasat modem/router's functionality - some have suggested that only port 1 is active on the Viasat device when in bridge mode and it is the logical equivalent of the WAN port on the standalone Viasat modem. Regardless, the public IP is assigned to your router in this case with no need for duplicate NAT.<br /><br />Actually the call to google might be best in this case, I'm not familiar with their technology but my first question to them would be can this even work with two devices having the same phone number and residing on the same local network without some form of port forwarding router magic? I'm having difficulty visualizing how that would actually work but I'm old, tired and my networking knowledge is fading fast the further removed from it I become, unless you're saying it works in non-bridged mode.&nbsp; <br /><br />Probably not the answer you want and can only imagine the headbanging experience of getting through tier 1 scripted support to someone who could actually provide, you know... with something that resembles an answer. The following probably best summarizes your support experience thus far: <br /><br /><img src="https://d2r1vs3d9006ap.cloudfront.net/s3_images/1735604/RackMultipart20180615-124715-l8teq5-images.duckduckgo.com_inline.jpg?1529063178" title="Image https//d2r1vs3d9006apcloudfrontnet/s3_images/1735604/RackMultipart20180615-124715-l8teq5-imagesduckduckgocom_inlinejpg1529063178" />&nbsp; &nbsp; 2 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19584826 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903 19584826 Oliver responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T16:34:57Z 2018-06-15T16:34:57Z Oliver http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/2605367 https://www.gravatar.com/avatar/b7178f6de10bfb7b5afa6c7104fc2949?d=identicon&s=55&r=PG coliver I am well versed in networking. What Viasat is doing with gateway and client side proxy is the problem. Google fi and Google voice use webrtc. No NAT needed for it. From what I've seen our public IP does not reside on our modems, it resides on the sat gateway and traffic is proxyed to it. 0 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19584919 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19584826 19584919 Old Labs responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T17:15:51Z 2018-06-15T17:15:51Z Old Labs http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/7094575 https://d2r1vs3d9006ap.cloudfront.net/public/uploaded_images/11309003/Dixie(2)_medium.jpg oldlabs Good luck with busting through tier 1 - or hopefully a Viasat engineer is lurking here who gives a rip ;)&nbsp; 1 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19585128 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19584826 19585128 Old Labs responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T18:53:03Z 2018-06-15T18:53:03Z Old Labs http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/7094575 https://d2r1vs3d9006ap.cloudfront.net/public/uploaded_images/11309003/Dixie(2)_medium.jpg oldlabs Or just wait for a moderator to weigh in and request the viasatlistens email...<br /><br />I'm often reluctant to even recommend that route, preferring that the moderators initiate that request. Their primary function is not really support, but rather an alternative to be used when the primary support falls flat. Viasat will never get the primary support channel right if it's consistently bypassed in favor of contacting the social media moderators first.<br /><br />I feel we do the moderators no favor when suggesting viasatlistens unless the moderators have initiated the request. Contacting them after attempting the primary support channel allows them to address issues there while forwarding your issue to the proper channel.<br /><br />The initial reply you received may have been a simple request/hint to try customer care first - but obviously I wasn't there so just guessing. 2 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19585174 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19584826 19585174 Oliver responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T19:05:58Z 2018-06-15T19:05:58Z Oliver http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/2605367 https://www.gravatar.com/avatar/b7178f6de10bfb7b5afa6c7104fc2949?d=identicon&s=55&r=PG coliver Yes Google voice / google fi does work with many devices. Other none viasat networks do not have this problem I have tested many times now. It has to be the gateway/client side proxy. <br /><br /> Was a post a month or so ago here about a way to send a debug from modem of client side proxy, can not find it. 0 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19585246 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19584826 19585246 Jim16 responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T19:42:34Z 2018-06-15T19:42:34Z Jim16 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/8000530 https://d2r1vs3d9006ap.cloudfront.net/public/uploaded_images/11309608/exede_largex1xx_medium.jpg jim_16_7685645 <p>"Or just wait for a moderator to weigh in and request the viasatlistens email..."</p><p>Valid point.&nbsp; Maybe punting everyone to that email isn't what this forum is about.&nbsp; There are some pretty talented people on here that might ( and usually do ) get to the bottom of issues like this.&nbsp; Plus if they get help outside of this forum, then others won't see the results that may also&nbsp;help them.</p> 3 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19585539 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903 19585539 Diana responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T22:18:28Z 2018-06-15T22:18:28Z Diana http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/7385156 https://d2r1vs3d9006ap.cloudfront.net/public/uploaded_images/11268694/Avatar-Employee-Moderator-V2_medium.jpg exedediana Hi Oliver,&nbsp; please send an email&nbsp;to <a href="mailto:viasatlistens@viasat.com" rel="nofollow">viasatlistens@viasat.com</a> with your account and contact information.&nbsp; We will escalate the issue if we can't correct the issue.&nbsp; Thanks, Diana 1 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19585602 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19585539 19585602 Jim16 responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-06-15T23:16:06Z 2018-06-15T23:16:06Z Jim16 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/8000530 https://d2r1vs3d9006ap.cloudfront.net/public/uploaded_images/11309608/exede_largex1xx_medium.jpg jim_16_7685645 There you go Old Labs! 1 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19616848 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19585539 19616848 Oliver responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-07-02T20:43:01Z 2018-07-02T20:43:01Z Oliver http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/2605367 https://www.gravatar.com/avatar/b7178f6de10bfb7b5afa6c7104fc2949?d=identicon&s=55&r=PG coliver Just FYI only thing that came of this was being told to contact the 800 number 0 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19616884 http://m.getsatisfaction.com/topics/7749903/replies/19585539 19616884 Old Labs responded to "Do you know how viasat networking works?" 2018-07-02T21:10:06Z 2018-07-02T21:10:06Z Old Labs http://m.getsatisfaction.com/people/7094575 https://d2r1vs3d9006ap.cloudfront.net/public/uploaded_images/11309003/Dixie(2)_medium.jpg oldlabs Some escalation... :( 2